TCHS Football Bulldogs will celebrate their 2017 season at their Thursday banquet

The 2017 Toombs County High School football season was by all measures the Bulldogs’ most successful season since  their 2008 run to the Elite 8. The Dawgs went 9-1 during the regular season, 10-2 overall, won their first playoff game since 2008, defeated Vidalia for the first in eight years, finished in the top two in the region standings for the first time since 2003 and played host to their first home playoff game since 2008. 2017 TCHS Football Archive

In the recent past the Bulldogs struggled to beat playoff caliber teams. In 2017 they defeated four- Telfair County, Jeff Davis, Vidalia and Fitzgerald. That is the most since the 2000 Elite 8 Bulldogs knocked off six playoff teams. Between the 2009 season and prior to this past the Dawgs had beaten only two playoff teams. The 2010 team squad beat a 5-6 Appling County team 27-21 in Baxley and the 2012 Bulldogs knocked off the 8-4 Benedictine Cadets 14-12 in Booster Stadium.

Bulldog seniors were captains for the Vidalia game. From left- Jonathan Quintero, Dakota Braddock, Ervin Mincey and Willie Campbell

“2017 has allowed Bulldog fans to believe again,” head coach Richie Marsh said. “Let’s celebrate it.” And the Bulldogs will at their annual banquet on Thursday, February 22 at 7 p.m. at the Hawk’s Point Golf Club.

Individually the Bulldogs had 16 players honored by the Region 2 AA coaches. Kicker Rig Tinoco was the special teams player of the year and D.J. Matthews was the co-defensive player of the year. Four Bulldogs were named first team all offense- Keshawn Morgan, Dalton McBride, Willie Campbell and Cody Fuller. Four also made the first team defensive squad- Ervin Mincey, Jaquail Boyd, Demetrius Owens and Kyle Reynolds (punting). Four more Dawgs were named to the second team- Dakota Braddock, Will Fuller, Tyler Smith and Jeidon Sistrunk. Jonathan Quintero and Ashlee Ashley were honorable mention.

Four Bulldogs signed on National Signing Day. Ervin Mincey is going to West Georgia, Keshawn Morgan to Independence Community College and Willie Campbell and Dalton McBride to the University of the Cumberlands.