Beasley continues his dominating run with a 1-hit shutout


Since April 9 former Toombs County Bulldog Jeremy Beasley has been on a dominating run through the GCAA. On Saturday May 7 the sophomore right-hander pitched a complete one-hitter- a 7-0 win at East Georgia. During this five-game span Jeremy has gone 5-0 and has thrown 32 innings allowing only 16 hits, four walks and five earned runs with a ERA of just 1.41.

The only East Georgia hit was by Calvin Young, a first pitch, two-out single to left. The only other Bobcat base runner reached on an error in the fourth. Young played on the 2014 Bleckley County team which faced TCHS in the first round of the GHSA State Tournament and coincidentally Jeremy one-hit the Royals in a 7-0 win.

Beasley threw only 75 pitches against East Georgia and struck out eight batters. He induced five grounders and eight fly balls.

The victory along with a 7-3 win in game two of the doubleheader helped Darton finish first in the GCAA. The Cavaliers finished the regular season with a 21-7 conference record (36-18) overall. 20-8 South Georgia finished second.

Jeremy improves his record to 8-3 with a 3.15 ERA.

So, far in his two seasons at Darton Jeremy is 15-7 with a 2.82 ERA.

2015 Season 7-4 Record and 2.52 ERA- 78 2/3 Innings, 72 Hits, 22 Earned Runs, 49 Strikeouts, 21 Walks

2016 Season 8-3 Record and 3.15 ERA- 71 1/3 Innings, 62 Hits, 25 Earned Runs, 58 Strikeouts, 16 Walks

Total 15-7 and 2.82 ERA- 150 Innings, 134 Hits, 47 Earned Runs, 107 Strikeouts, 37 Walks

The GCAA Baseball coaches selected their All-Region teams, along with selecting the Player of the Year, Coach of the Year and Gold Glove team for 2016 season.

Defensive Player of the Year-John Cable DSC

Player of the Year- John Cable DSC

Coach of the Year – Scott Hemmings DSC

First Team All Conference 

Pitchers – Cayden Hatcher SGSC, Jeremy Beasley DSC

Closer – William Griffin GHC

Outfielders – Cameron Coffey SGSC, Michael Warren AC, Caleb Slaughter ABAC

Infielders – Jordan Howard GSC, Jacob Olson WGTC, Denzell Gowdy DSC, Michael Huggins DSC
Catcher – John Cable DSC
DH – Aubrey McCarty GSC
Closer – William Griffin GHC

jere4may72016 jere5may72016 jere2may72016jere6may72016