Baseball Bulldogs put in a long, cold first day

Christian Conley swings the stick
Christian Conley swings the stick

On a cold and windy day with temperatures in the 40’s and gusts up to 25 miles per hour, the Toombs County Bulldogs put in a full 9 to 4 day on their first day of practice.

Among the seniors getting ready for the 2016 season is Nick Curtis. Last year he played third base and pitched and he is looking forward to opening day. “I am very, very excited especially with the team we have this year. I have so much confidence in them. ” Curtis said after working on his hitting in the cage. “Our coaches are doing well with us. I think we are going to have a great year.”

A key factor that kept the Bulldogs from making the state playoffs for a third straight year was hitting. The Dawgs lost six one-run games. “Hitting was our main liability last year,” senior Logan McGowan said. “”We are really young, but all our guys are going to work out and get a lot of things done and do well this season.”

Bryce Deloach scoots in to 3rd base
Bryce Deloach scoots in to 3rd base

The pitching staff lost Tyler Luke to graduation. Luke had a 1.81 ERA in his senior season and teams hit only .165 against the right-hander. The staff has added a former Bulldog lefty to the mix. Alston, Williams, who attended Pinewood Christian Academy last year, has returned for his senior season. Williams says he has altered his pitching style. “I have been trying to stay more consistent instead of trying to throw the ball harder, just trying to place the ball, be a strike thrower instead of trying to blow it by people because that’s not the kind of pitcher I  am.”

Head coach Brian Fitzgerald leads a coaching staff which includes two former Bulldogs- Nick Hayes is back for his second year and Patrick Craft, who wrapped up his playing career at Brewton-Parker College last season, has joined the staff. Also returning are Hunter Adams and Rusty Beasley.

2016 Toombs County High School Baseball Schedule

Monday, February 15    Claxton at Toombs County    5 p.m. (scrimmage)

Tuesday, February 23,   Jenkins at Toombs County    5:45 p.m.

Friday, February 26,       Toombs County at Islands      5:45 p.m.

Saturday, February 27    Toombs County at Vidalia     1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 1             Johnson at Toombs County   5:45 p.m.

Friday, March 4                 Beach at Toombs County       5:45 p.m.

Saturday, March 5            Vidalia at Toombs County     1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 8             Toombs County at SEB            5:30 p.m

Friday, March 11               Dodge at Toombs County      5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, March 15           Toombs County at Appling Co   6 p.m.

Thursday, March 17        Swainsboro at Toombs County  5:45 p.m.

Friday, March 18             Toombs County at Brantley Co.  5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, March 22         Pierce Co. at  Toombs County     5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, March 24         Toombs County at Swainsboro    5:30 p.m.

Friday, March 25            Toombs County at Tattnall County  5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, March 29        Toombs County at Dodge County   5:30 p.m.

Friday, April 1                 Appling County at Toombs County   5:45 p.m.

Tuesday, April 5             Brantley County at Toombs County  5:45 p.m.

Wednesday, April 6      Bacon County at Toombs County       5:45 p.m.

Friday, April 8                Toombs County at Pierce County       6 p.m.

Tuesday, April 12          Tattnall County at Toombs County   5:45 p.m.

 

2016 Toombs County Junior Varsity Baseball Schedule

Tuesday, February 16      Toombs County at Appling Co.    5 p.m.
Thursday, February 18    Metter at Toombs County             5:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 27     Toombs County at Vidalia            11 a.m.
Monday, February 29      Toombs County at ECI                  5:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 2       Toombs County at Metter            5:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 5           Vidalia at Toombs County            11 a.m.
Thursday, March 10        ECI at Toombs County                  5:30 p.m.
Monday, March 14          Claxton at Toombs County           5:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 19         Toombs Couty at Tattnall Co.      11 a.m. (doubleheader)
Thursday, March 24        Toombs County at Swainsboro   4 p.m.
Monday, March 28          Toombs County at Claxton          5 p.m.
Monday, April 4               Appling Co. at Toombs County   5:30 p.m.